Korean Lab

Note: This was posted in my other journal, , last November 8, 2010.

Stumbled upon this site while I was browsing for some Korean websites. From what I can gather on the links at the top of the page, the website is aimed for elementary up to high school students learning Korean–I tried looking at the pages meant for high school students and it isn’t a surprise that I couldn’t understand the stuff–hanja (Chinese characters) were mixed in the readings, so even if I could somehow understand the audio included, I could not understand the hanja. D: Ah well.

Anyway, I went and checked out the elementary level and obviously there are words that I don’t know. I think I read somewhere that stuff written for school children are among the hardest stuff to understand for foreign language learners. Why? Because most vocabularies used in children’s stories aren’t exactly at the top of the list of words adults use in their everyday conversations. Say, for example, stories like The Hare and The Tortoise. Adults don’t exactly use hare or tortoise a lot in conversation, so they wouldn’t be prioritized when learning English, whereas children who learned the English language from an early age know what those words mean–if not, they can always go for the simpler the rabbit and the turtle, although I distinctly remember reading that story as The Hare and the Tortoise.

And what is it with Korea and their love for Internet Explorer? D: Back when I was downloading stuff using Clubbox, I had to use Internet Explorer since it wouldn’t work properly with Firefox. D: Even Korean Lab screws up if not opened with IE. D: Oh well…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

